16 incumbents elected to smaller Navajo Council

Flagstaff, Arizona (AP) November 2010
Sixteen current Navajo lawmakers have been elected to the new 24-member Tribal Council.

All but one of the races included an incumbent. The winners are scheduled to be sworn in on Jan. 11.

The current 88-member Tribal Council was reduced in a special election last December that was aimed at reforming the Navajo government.

The tribe’s executive branch will be led by Ben Shelly, who received 52 percent of the vote in the presidential race. His opponent, New Mexico state Sen. Lynda Lovejoy, garnered 47 percent of the vote and says she’ll ask for a recount.

Voter turnout hit nearly 58 percent in the November 2nd tribal elections.