Seven in South Dakota chosen for Hagen-Harvey scholarships

Pierre, South Dakota (AP) June 2011

Seven American Indian students have been chosen for a scholarship program to help pay their postsecondary education in South Dakota.

The Richard Hagen-Minerva Harvey Memorial Scholarships range from $1,000 for a single year to as much as $6,000 over four years. Recipients must attend institutes of higher education in South Dakota and be an enrolled member of an Indian tribe.

This yearÂ’s receipients are Araya Cournoyer of Lake Andes, Katelyn Hump of Faith, Matilyn Kerr of Highmore, Alyssa Lothrop of Canton, Dakota Marshall of Watertown, Lindsey Montileaux of Tea, and Clayton Reinhard of Fort Pierre.

The scholarship program was established in 2003 after Minerva Harvey left the proceeds of her estate to the state Department of Education. The late Richard Hagen was a state legislator from Pine Ridge.



Context: com_content.article
onContentAfterDisplay: 1